Feefo

Customer Reviews By Feefo


We're very proud to have won Feefo's Gold Trusted Merchant award.

What do our clients say about us and Aquitaine? Our very latest customer reviews are below - you can see plenty more at Feefo

Review posted on 28 Nov 2018

Review of Property: Casa de Colinas

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: excellent from start to finish and we are not easy to please

Product: very nice villa in quiet location, just what we ordered


Review posted on 28 Nov 2018

Review of Destination: Lagos

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

Lagos is a great place, nothing like the tourist towns further east.


Review posted on 05 Oct 2018

Review of Property: Praia D'El Rey Beachfront

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: The organisation was easy to work with and the whole booking went smoothly, with good communication between us.

Product: The positives: the sea view, which, from the balcony, was absolutely sensational; the sound of the mighty sea; two great, child-friendly paddling beaches 15 and 30 min away respectively by car; a mini-supermarket two min walk from the townhouse; a fish restaurant above the mini-supermarket; having mostly Portuguese holiday makers around us; very relaxed atmosphere; takeaways available from the golf reception area; friendly staff throughout; some sunshine to remember. The negatives: the townhouse - there were two sets of staggered townhouses. The one we stayed in was next to a townhouse whose living room and balcony was next to one of our two bedrooms. The people next door were Portuguese who owned their townhouse. Portuguese have a typical Mediterranean life style in that they are up until very late, often until 2 am, including children and sleeping on the balcony despite the often chilly conditions. We were therefore disturbed for most of our 10 night stay; mostly windy, rainy, misty and cold weather throughout the stay (from third week in August); ice-cold swimming pool, as it wasn't heated; beach for surfers only and not swimming as the current is too strong; half hour journeys by car to any supermarket; very expensive use of the indoor/outdoor swimming pools at Marriott Hotel (10 min by car), who charged up to 50 Euros for two adults and one child, including swim caps (can`t go without one) for one day`s stay; the kids' club at the same Marriott Hotel's, which wasn't exactly next door and user friendly; the area is suitable for people who want to play golf, and not aimed towards children (we had a 7-year old with absolutely no other children to play with); and no commercial shops as a tourist to go browsing in. As you can, in our case, the negatives outweighs the positives. For someone else, maybe it's the other way, especially if you are a golfer or a dedicated surfer.


Review posted on 05 Oct 2018

Review of Destination: Peniche

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

Not for us, as we are not surfers or golf players.


Review posted on 30 Aug 2018

Review of Property: Villa des Dunes

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: The service was excellent. I had several queries about the property both before and after booking and all my questions were answered swiftly and comprehensively. I was really impressed by the friendly but professional way in which all my emails were answered. I couldn’t fault this company and would definitely book with them again.

Product: A lovely villa with a fantastic pool. It had everything we could possibly wish for although we weren’t too sure how we were supposed to cook on the barbecue (appealingly rustic but maybe a little too rustic!!) so only used it once. It could almost be a 5 star villa but I get easily frustrated by silly things like lack of space to store groceries in the kitchen (loads of cupboards but all filled with utensils) and the fact that the mosaic tiles kept coming off in the pool. Really trivial, I know...It is a beautiful villa which I would thoroughly recommend.


Review posted on 30 Aug 2018

Review of Destination: Peniche

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

We didn’t really bother with Peniche itself but the resort of Praia del Rey was really clean and well- located for the beach and golf course. Went to Lisbon twice (wonderful), Obidos (full of tourists), Sintra (beautiful) and Cascais ( a really attractive seaside resort - think Cannes rather than Blackpool!!) Obidos Lagoon was good for a bike ride. We felt we were in a decent location but you definitely need a car to make the most of it.


Review posted on 04 Jul 2018

Review of Property: Villa Ocean

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: We thought the local Managing Agents in Portugal cut a lot of corners - we can't fault Alternative Portugal in the UK though

Product: Villa was very nice but could have been cleaner. We were told it was not overlooked but it was right next to the road with a low wall .However. location was superb !


Review posted on 04 Jul 2018

Review of Destination: Foz do Arelho

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

We liked the laid back nature of Foz - very quiet when we were there but that was nice.


Review posted on 21 Sep 2017

Review of Property: Villa da Coruja

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Amazing property, helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Product: Beautiful villa, clean, spacious,


Review posted on 21 Sep 2017

Review of Destination: Salema

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

Great location, lovely beaches nearby


Review posted on 21 Sep 2017

Review of Property: Casa dos Sonhos

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Good information about the area, efficient booking process

Product: Casa dos Sonhos is a modern, spacious, well equipped and comfortable villa on the outskirts of the village of Foz, about 10 minutes drive from the beach and lagoon. The owners have decorated and furnished it beautifully with great care, and provided everything that you could want for a home-from-home stay. It was beautifully clean, with quality towels and sheets, and plenty of hot water for when everyone wants a shower at the same time! The unheated pool was well managed, though a little chilly when we were there in a cool spell, with plenty of sun loungers and a parasol, and there were other furnished outdoor spaces to sit in too. It has views over a field, but a short drive will take you to the nearby village or lagoon. It's a good idea to have a car here.


Review posted on 21 Sep 2017

Review of Destination: Foz do Arelho

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

Foz is a slightly sprawling village with several shops, pastelarias and restaurants, that feels authentically Portuguese. There were a few other Brits around, but it was mostly the Portuguese on holiday here. The resorts up and down the coast are much more developed than Foz, but we much preferred its unhurried pace and family feel. The beach is large, sandy and beautiful, with the wilder Atlantic side for boarders, and the warmer, shallower and calmer waters of the lagoon on the neighbouring part of the beach. The sunsets were stunning! The locals everywhere that we went were friendly and hospitable, and there is lots to do for all interests. When we stayed in August, the weather was unseasonably cool, and so we had various trips inland (car essential) where it was warmer and there were lots of cultural attractions such as former monasteries, museums and art galleries. We stayed during the "Festa" and enjoyed seeing local traditional folk dancers and bands in the village centre, with fireworks going off at all times of the day and night! The nearby walled village of Obidos is beautiful. Our 17 and 14 year old daughters also did a week's windsurfing course on the lagoon and had a great time.


Review posted on 03 Sep 2017

Review of Property: Villa Vistas

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: friendly service and helpful; property was well equipped and lived up to its description.

Product: Villa was excellent with everything we wanted


Review posted on 03 Sep 2017

Review of Destination: Foz do Arelho

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

very nice part of portugal


Review posted on 03 Sep 2017

Review of Property: Villa Ocean

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Justin from Alternative Portugal provided me with excellent advice and knowledge when booking my holiday. Foz do Arelho was situated by a beautiful lagoon and the restaurants served the most wonderful fish, especially the golden bream. The villa was set in a very quiet part and the views and sunset were fantastic. We definitely would go back again. It was a beautiful part of Portugal.

Product: The villa was clean and modern with views towards the lagoon. It was situated in a quiet part of Foz do Arelho with easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants.


Review posted on 03 Sep 2017

Review of Destination: Foz do Arelho

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

The villa was clean and modern with beautiful views towards the lagoon. It was set in a quiet part of Foz do Arelho easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants.


Review posted on 31 Aug 2017

Review of Property: Salema Beach Village

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: This is the second time I've booked with Alternative Portugal and both times the accommodation has been very good. Alternative Portugal provided some useful information to help me make a decision about which holiday resort and accommodation to select. I needed to take in different needs within the family and they gave me the pros and cons of my options. The final place we selected (Salema Beach Resort) was just what we were after. All the paperwork and information was clear and in order.

Product: Staff were very good - especially the lady who first greeted us on arrival, she had a very natural manner. Accommodation was great - good size, comfortable and very clean, and loved having the daily service that kept the place clean and provided new towels and sheets. What was particularly useful was being able to swap beach towels each day. The only thing with the accommodation is that facilities are very basic if you want to cook in, which we had to do sometimes as a family to save costs. Kitchen could do with a few more serving bowls. The sea views are OK and better than not having them, but you don't get a clear view of the sea and have to peak through other apartments. The local beach was absolutely lovely, although be prepared for very cold water! We hired surf boards from Sagres, strapped these to the car and went to visit other surf beaches which were all fantastic (if you're into natural and quiet beaches). Waves weren't always that big, but sufficient to keep a couple of teenagers occupied for the day. The walk up to the Salema Beach resort is steep but it's a good way to burn off a few calories. Sometimes we got the buggy, and that was quite fun.


Review posted on 31 Aug 2017

Review of Property: Salema Beach Village

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Easy to speak to someone knowledgable about the local area and the accommodation offered. Good information provided prior to departure.

Product: Very comfortable accommodation and perfect location close to village and beach. We hired a car which I would definitely recommend to visit different beaches and to make it easier to buy food etc. It's a very easy drive from Faro airport which took just over an hour. The pool area is lovely and a great place to spend some hours after being at one of the gorgeous beaches. The staff at the resort were brilliant and very helpful apart from one or two cleaners who decided to help themselves to some of our food :-(. It left us slightly uneasy but doesn't reflect the resort and most of its staff. If it wasn't for that I would rate it 5 stars.


Review posted on 31 Aug 2017

Review of Destination: Salema

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

Great beach - very beautiful and not at all spoilt. Good selection of restaurants given the size of the resort. We liked the resort a lot because we weren't after anywhere too busy for this particular holiday, but there isn't much to the resort if you're after lots of bars/entertainment/other young people etc.


Review posted on 31 Aug 2017

Review of Destination: Salema

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

Lovely quiet village with a handful of restaurants and beautiful beach


Review posted on 17 Aug 2017

Review of Property: Villa Vistas

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Friendly, helpful and professional. We would recommend Alternative Portugal and would definitely use them again.

Product: The villa is exactly as depicted in the photos, if not better! It is spotlessly clean, well equipped and perfectly located. The pool is of a generous size, warm and very private. Excellent all round!


Review posted on 17 Aug 2017

Review of Destination: Foz do Arelho

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

The beauty of Foz is the wild Atlantic Ocean to your right and the beautiful, calm lagoon to your left. There are ample, very reasonably priced, bars and restaurants along the lagoon, perfect for watching the spectacular sunsets! Foz provides an excellent base to explore this beautiful region of Portugal. Obidos is an absolute must, the medieval festival is a delight!


Review posted on 16 Aug 2017

Review of Property: Villa Berlenga

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Very helpful staff. Always on end of the phone. We were able to check in to the property early in arrival day as it was not being used. Welcome pack was delivered and helpful advice given in addition to a useful file in house.

Product: Property was well equipped, spacious, comfortable with amazing sunsets from the roof.


Review posted on 16 Aug 2017

Review of Destination: Peniche

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

The coastline is superb. Swimming from the beach close to the property was discouraged due to the geography so we travelled into Baleal where there were safer beaches. Obidos is close by and beautiful, the lagoon is great and there are lots f watersports available. However the surfing is superb and top activity.


Review posted on 05 Aug 2017

Review of Property: Villa Vistas

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Great website, excellent customer service, easy to make booking - no problem whatsoever. Would definitely recommend.

Product: Villa Vistas didn't disappoint - we loved it; it's excellent general standard, the generous pool area, the variety of places to sit and relax, the terraces and obviously the superb views! The location was great too. (If I had to mention one slightly negative thing it would be damp smell in the main bedroom - but this certainly didn't detract from our overall enjoyment of this fantastic villa).


Review posted on 05 Aug 2017

Review of Destination: Foz do Arelho

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

The beach and the lagoon were both fantastic. We enjoyed the restaurants and particularly loved the sailing club where we took some kite surfing lessons and enjoyed their small restaurant with great views too!


Review posted on 14 Jul 2017

Review of Property: Villa Floresta

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: Great personal service in deciding where to go and which villa to stay in. Really appreciated Justin's feedback.

Product: Huge modern villa. Family friendly.


Review posted on 14 Jul 2017

Review of Destination: Salema

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

Our new favorite village in Salema. Wonderful restaurants and soft sandy beach.


Review posted on 09 Jul 2017

Review of Property: Praia D'El Rey Beachfront

Service: Feefo Service Rating Product: Feefo Product Rating

Service: The house was very nice but dome things need attention - particularly the outside table is disintegrating! There should be a sun shade for the balconies. Rather limited supply of serving bowls in the kitchen.

Product: As previous needs attention in some areas


Review posted on 09 Jul 2017

Review of Destination: Peniche

Destination: Feefo Product Rating

As previous needs attention in parts


Choose from our stunning holidays, all hand picked and personally visited by us.

Find My Holiday

Or call our experts now
01395 865655

Your Favourites